Wildlife comes down

Aug. 8, 2012 – Coyotes chattering over the ridge while I picked more lavendar this moring with Ozette. Watched a beautiful but injured bear on my way to the ladies’ pool party at the hot springs near home today. Met a member of Sisters on the Fly, swimming, and looks like I am in the market for a vintage camper, ready to join this adventurous group. Watched maybe a golden eagle in the neighbor’s field before dinner. I like it here, even if it is hot. It’ natural.

Aug. 9, 2012 – Trying to find out if my neighbor’s German Shepherd came home after they were playing in the swimming hole above Glendale bridges yesterday. Kenny was waiting on the side of the road in his PU truck for the dog to “catch up”, soaking wet child in back. I saw the bear with broken leg a few hundred yards from the swimming hole minutes later. Kenny’s place is closest to the hole. Brian saw a cougar passing near our deck at 4 AM today ,after Ozette came back from hte field, and a coyote loping by, under our big pine tree in back of the house. Kitten, Boudicca, really wants outside! Ha! silly girl. Just a light wildfire smoke & hot temps. to aggrivate wasps. Thinking about camping towards Black Lake in the Devils. — in Fruitvale, ID.
Later Aug. 9, 2012 – Dog came home, but was gone a long time. Owner lets him run free a lot. Zip is a 2 1/2 year old German Shepherd. I’m protective of mine, cautious, more watchful for her and what she might chase. Ground squirrels, though, have no limits but so far she just digs. Last year’s badger routed them all out, as well as lizards and snakes. We don’t see as many hawks this year with less prey.

This evening Ozette spooked a doe when we walked to the mailbox. She came when I called her,and later she obeyed when I said “leave it”. Then the deer, which had stopped in the field to watch us, started walking toward us. See? All good things to those who wait. Another neighbor said he saw two very small cubs and a mottled colored sow last night at about 8:30 in the same place I saw the all-black bear. Guess I will avoid the swimming hole at the bridges for a while. But what a great sight! The 2 point white tail sauntered through our back yard while I walked out to the lavender nursery to drop a peach pit. I realized when I was in the middle of the yard that I should have looked before I went out at nearly dark.  I did look under the house before I saw the deer. I hate to have to leave soon to go back to work. But I feel blessed to get to be here and have swell experiences. The other place is remarkable, too!

What are your feelings or thoughts about this? Leave a Reply.

