change in scenery next

face down journal
A journal, welcome as a visit with a friend.

May 11, 2013. I knew it would be hard to keep up my blog once school started again. Sure enough. So I decided to take this opportunity to retire from teaching in the Sequim School District, when the term ends, and resume my writing interests. And art. Lots of art. No doubt I will continue to live in more than one environment and no doubt I’ll find plenty to write about.

June 14, 2013. I showed my blog to my 7th grade writing students this week. These kids are mostly non-writers and it takes a lot to inspire them to write. They had no interest in starting their own blogs. I’ll try again with the class of gifted students. They are interested in publishing on my writers website but it won’t be online before school ends. I hope I get to see these kids again. They are inspired young writers and they inspire me to facilitate their learning. I look forward to meeting more young writers in creative camps and workshops that I am preparing. Writing outside the perimeters of school requirements offers more freedom to be inventive. It’s OK to make mistakes in our art. That’s how new ideas come forth. No fear writing!

What are your feelings or thoughts about this? Leave a Reply.

