Ricky & Phil fishing

From the Backside

I am drawn to making portraits. I create them with words and pictures. Photographing and drawing people challenges me. Portraits that are not face on call me back to reflect deeper. I look longer at people pictured from different view points, especially from behind. Let’s consider point of view, the perspective of the camera or sketch pad. Here are some pieces I am working on, probably going to draw them. Below these samples are links to other blogs with inspiring portraits from uncommon viewpoints. If you have some samples for me to see, please leave your blog address in the comment. I’ll check in.

man portrait
unfinished lesson to draw eyes, charcoal and prismacolor
Ricky & Phil fishing
Looking from behind , I feel like I’m back stage of my subjects
Nathan bike Loon Lake
I’m there with the men, gazing at the landscape, and at them gazing at the landscape.
my back walking down trail
When a far away friend saw this she commented, “I’m walking with you.”

Inspiring art blogs I follow

I follow these blogs for art inspiration. Take a look.

Scrapbook portraits. I’m not a scrapbooker, but Lori Davison creates kits that I’ll probably start using. Why not put my subject in from a back view? If only my studio were as roomy and organized as the one in this portrait.

Here’s Lorie’s blog address. You can see her kits on the sidebar, and link to her sale site. She has some pretty darned good landscape photos at the top. Scroll down about halfway to see how people have used her kits for portraits, some from the backside.

http://loriedavison.blogspot.com/

The Goat that Wrote. The backside of The Goat That Wrote. Here’s hiker who definitely gets down, or up, a lot more trails than I’ll ever see. And he posted a photo from the backside, in his pack, of course. Now how do you get a selfie like that? Check out his blog with writing and photos from walking on several continents. Really worth the read.

Your turn. In the comments please share a link to your art showing people from the back side. Happy Trails!

 

 

One thought on “From the Backside”

  1. I feel alike. Drawing or photographing people from their backs is less intrusive and sometimes more intimate.

    Thank you Kay, it’s very sweet of you to include me in this lovely list.

    Like

What are your feelings or thoughts about this? Leave a Reply.

