Winter sunflowers

If I had to choose a religion, the sun as the universal giver of life would be my god.- Napoleon Bonaparte 

Many world cultures have recognized the power of the sun. I don’t claim the sun as my religion but I choose to live where I can see the sun and blue skies more than grey clouds. It’s my blog name, Sky Blue Daze. On this winter day, shadowed by snow clouds and fog, oily black seeds grown from last summer’s sun feed American Gold Finches.

I dried sunflowers at the end of summer and today I attached some to a wild cherry branch near my bird feeder. Even while I was twisting a pipe cleaner around a twig to secure a stem, an early bird began eating from a seed head I had placed above me! The cherry branch attached to the deck rail provides a perch, attracting and keeping birds longer at the feeder. Evening Gross Beaks have dominated the feeder for about a week and I wanted to provide the finches and Oregon Juncos another chance to get some seeds. The Juncos prefer seeds on the ground so I cleared snow off the deck and scatter seeds there. They fluttered to the branches of sunflower heads anyway, checked them out, then left them for the finches.

I know the birds get wild seeds. I like that I grew the sunflowers from the sun, the universal giver of life, and now I can share them with animals this winter. It’s a way I can participate in nature.

More about the cherry branch with Buddha is in this post. https://skybluedaze.wordpress.com/2015/01/05/no-mistake/

This post uses the Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadowed. It’s not my best idea for the theme, but while we live shadowed from seeing the sun, it’s my shot for the week. Once I had the sunflowers on the branch the response from the birds urged me to sit calmly on a wet deck chair and photography them. The birds don’t stick around for much movement from the photographer. I hope to get better at getting close to wildlife and making some interesting images. For more about this week’s theme and to see how other bloggers used “shadowed” click here. https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/shadowed/

6 thoughts on “Winter sunflowers”

    1. Thank you. It’s hard to get good exposure on overcast days. I am a naturalist, worked in Olympic National Park, and I live on 8 wild acres. Wouldn’t you know I made this little feeding station on my deck. 🙂

      Like

What are your feelings or thoughts about this? Leave a Reply.

