toad stool in sun

Stream stroll and scale

I saw frog eggs in our creek about 10 – 14 days ago but doubted my observation. It seemed too early, snow still on the ground. Big rains came and the creek rushed and flooded. Today I took a stream walk to see if I could find those eggs. I guess they’ve washed down stream in the runoff. But look what I found along side the stream! I used my walking poles, old ski poles, to scale the wildlife for you. I wasn’t planning to participate in this week’s photo challenge: scale https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/scale/ but it just became obvious as I walked along.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think I saw a toad, but it sort of looks like a frog. What do you think? Anyone know what kind of mold that is growing inside the entrance to a large rodent burrow? It’s about the size of a tennis ball. I think it’s growing on a chunk of scat. I put the small camera inside the hole to make the picture. Click on any picture in the slide show to get a closer look.

4 thoughts on “Stream stroll and scale”

    1. You’re right, it is hard to tell the difference. We see more tiny green frogs here than brown toads. The color of this one, and its bumpy back make me wonder. There are no poison toads in our region but my cousin told me I had warts on my thumb when I was very young because I had been holding toads. I was a gullible child.

      Liked by 1 person

What are your feelings or thoughts about this? Leave a Reply.

