Pompeii faces in mud

Faces in mud

Pompeii faces in mud IMG_0809

I recently experienced the Pompeii Exhibit in Seattle.  This plaque relays the theater interests in that opulent city. I’m looking at the espressions of the men. I’m looking at the art style and wondering how it was crafted. I think I can do something like this. I’d probably go the long way around to get there. I have a plaster mold of my face, used for making theater masks. I’d fill the mold with plaster and then use the cast to apply clay and form the images. Then when dry or fired, depending on which type of clay I use, I would adhere it to the clay background. I wonder if all the faces and the background have to be wet to adhere? This might have been from an artist’s workshop because once this part is complete it can be used to cast duplicate, maybe even in bronze. Something to think about.

Another thing to consider is what story I can reveal from this art piece. It absorbs me. No women. Open mouths, different social classes. The lower one looks like he could be wearing a lumberjack cap.


About this post

I took a vacation away from my pretty-much-isolated home in the Rocky Mountains and ignored blogging for a couple of weeks. In that time on my travels I gathered photos and writing ideas. The day before my vacation Doug Warren invited me to join the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge. I agreed to do it, but told Doug I wouldn’t get on it until I returned from my trip. Here is my second post in this challenge. I made the photos with my Canon digital point and shoot with no flash in low light in the exhibit, hand held with slow shutter. I like the effect. I like it even more when I see it in Adobe CS4 and I don’t need to do adjustments, though I can imagine ways I might play with the image.

About the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge

Join the challenge! You don’t have to wait for an invitation.

You can read Doug Warren’s posts for the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge https://dpw67.wordpress.com/2015/04/01/becker-vineyards-feb/. In Doug’s blog you can find links to read what other bloggers have posted for the challenge.

The Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge rules require you to post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or simply a short paragraph – it’s entirely up to you.

Then each day, nominate another blogger to carry on this challenge. Don’t forget to tell the blogger you have nominated. Accepting the challenge is entirely up to the person nominated, it is not a command. And actually everyone can join in. So feel free to if you like the idea.

I nominated “GonnaBeAWriter” for my first day’s nomination. I think she’s a deep thinker and avid writer. I haven’t seen many photos with her writing but from what I see in her banner, no doubt she can do this. Here’s the link to her blog. Look her up for some good reads. https://xavanessa.wordpress.com/

I nominate Dune Mouse for my second nomination. She writes dark and fantasy and illustrates with her own photos, wonderously enhanced. You can find her blog https://cybeleshineblog.wordpress.com/.

5 thoughts on “Faces in mud”

  1. these are amazing masks!! I was in Pompeii several years ago and it was such an amazing, poignant and eerie experience. I’d love to see that exhibit in Seattle!! Thank you so much for thinking of me Sky. Though I do enjoy challenges I cannot commit to a daily regimen as lately I’ve been slowing down on blogging. arghh!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The exhibit is at the Pacific Science Center for another month or so. You can google for more info.. I had to wait a couple of weeks to start the challenge so if ever you get the notion, it’s open. Blogging takes time!

      Liked by 1 person

What are your feelings or thoughts about this? Leave a Reply.

