Mullein Meal

Landscaping to attract nature is not particularly challenging when you live in an ecotone where forest meets field in rural Idaho. Ecotones, the spaces where two environments transition into each other, are rich in diversity. These areas provide for more wild life than either zone on its own. Native Mullein grows readily in disturbed ground here and when this set planted themselves in my new vegetable garden I wanted to see how they would flourish. The fence is about 5 feeet tall so you can see how large these mulleins grew in top soil we brought up from the riverside. I didn’t expect to see this White-headed Woodpecker searching for insects that inhabit the flower stems. It worked over these plants for several days, as well as a stand of them along our gravel road.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Designing my yard and garden to attract interesting birds and pollinators in the Rockies means promoting plants that attract these animals while resisting damage from deer, ground rodents, range cattle, and drought. Mullein is a sound choice that does all that and it’s a intriguing flower to watch develop. It’s super easy to grow and you’ll see it spring up in dry fields like a weed. These pictured grew as volunteers, but I have dug up the first year plants, the leaf sets, and successfully transplanted them. They build flower stalks their second year. This a fabulous plant for children’s gardens where they can feel the soft fuzzy leaves. Plus mullein is a wonder plant for respiratory problems and many other health issues. I dry the leaves in fall and make tea when my allergies attack.

If you don’t have access to the plant where you live, contact me and I’ll send you some seeds free. If you can find the plant try getting seeds from the flower stem and planting them in fall or transplant a first year root.

5 thoughts on “Mullein Meal”

  1. Very cool plants! I’ve been growing them for years. I planted a small 4 inch pot long ago, and once the plant took a hold in a garden, it continues to grow ever year and also prolificely self-seeds. The tall yellow flowerstalks are beautiful and I love the whiteheaded woodpecker. I used to make mullein tea when my son had asthma as a young child.
    Great post highlighting this versatile plant!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, thanks for your insightful comments! I took one from our hot dry Idaho place to our damp Olympic Peninsula home next the the rainforest and it, too, flourished and reseeded. Growing up with it in fields I didn’t appreciate it until someone at the coast asked me to bring them starts and told me how useful mullein is. I was really surprised to see the woodpecker on it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. And the leaves and flowers are very useful to people, too. I grew up in farm country, too. We pretended these plants were snake homes, probably because they grow in rocky fields. They grow very well in garden soil, of course.

      Like

What are your feelings or thoughts about this? Leave a Reply.

