Blossom time

I have only wildflowers and no fruit trees blooming this spring so when I saw these cherry blossoms photographed by Incahootswithmuddyboots I felt inspired to give it a go at painting them with watercolor. This is my 4th completed watercolor painting and the only one that is not landscape. I made it on a small 4X4 paper. I think I’d rather go big like the kites I painted (acrylic) when I tried to imitate Georgia O’Keefe’ blooms. Did you know she painted the same subjects in many different ways for years on years? That’s the way to study technique. Check out the many cheery spring blossoms on Incahootswithmuddyboots’ post.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cherry Blossoms

cherry blossoms from Incahootswithmuddyboots Zunday Zen

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Work in progress. I can see now that I should have referenced the image on screen instead of this poor print of it.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Deepening the hues and learning about layering transparent watercolors over other hues to see them blend. 

 

 

What are your feelings or thoughts about this? Leave a Reply.