Life imitates art

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
American Gothic Tree Planters

Last summer 2 grandsons and a neighbor helped us plant a maple tree for shade. I want to see how the tree and the boys grow, how we all change over years, so I took some baseline photos with help. The youngsters did most of the work, of course. Working with them is always fun. We thought we looked a little like the American Gothic painting even in the dorky glasses we tried on.

american-gothic

Here’s the original art that inspired us.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
We all know who really did most of the heavy work here. 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
What family was cropped out of the original painting? (Ah! a story idea!)

This is my second post for this week’s photo challenge: “Life imitates art.”. The idea is to find inspiration in a piece of art, and go further: imitate it. You can see more amusing American Gothic remakes here.

My first post for this photo challenge is here.

10 thoughts on “Life imitates art”

    1. Thanks! So far so good. The tree has a few feet of snow over its roots right now. We fenced it to keep deer and range cattle away and I put a bell on the fence. The boys are growing and I’m glad I don’t have to feed them all the time.

      Liked by 1 person

What are your feelings or thoughts about this? Leave a Reply.