How to be a street performer

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. Make yourself an appealing costume.
  2. Pose like a statue until someone puts cash in your box (which you have also decorated and set out in an obvious and inviting way).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3. With cash secured in your money bucket do your best to pose with the payers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4. Stay in character and interact with your patrons. After all, they paid for a performance.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5. Have a blast with the people you meet. It calls more attention to your performance and makes everyone’s day better.( Eduardo’s slide show has 5 photos; wait for them or click the arrows.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6. Perform in Madrid plazas. (Or you own street.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7. Or create an interesting sculpture with support so it looks like you are performing a magnificent feat when really you have built something to rest on.

I feel like I saw more street performers in Madrid than I photographed. I have encouraged my drama students to do street performances for fundraisers and I think with more confidence and rehearsals some might do it. Really, I should do this to raise funds for my next travel. Yeah, thinking about it.

Weekly Photo Challenge:  Local